Dharmaling Forums
Sign in to follow this  
tatjana

Precious men's body?

Tashi Delek!

I have a question regarding three principle stages of the path/scopes in Lam Rim. Is it more reasonable for one with average motivation and in very women’s body to set up her motivation within medium scope and pray to attain precious men’s body in next life? Please, I’m not implying any gender discussion. :|

With best wishes,

tatjana

since I am not an expert for medium scope :(, I would work on attaining limitless motivation to attain enlightement in this life. For me this is the only thing I am sure it is safe.

Dear Tatjana,

Dharma practitioners can have three objectives:

1. the attainment of a higher re-birth in future lives by avoiding the ten non-virtuous actions and cultivation of the ten virtuous actions (the initial scope)

2. the attainment of liberation from cyclic existence; by praticing the Three Higher Trainings (morality (ethics), meditation (concentration) and insight (wisdom)) (the middling scope)

3. the attainment of full Enlightenment by practicing the Six Perfections with the enlightened attitude of Bodhicitta (great or highest scope)

If I remember correctly the next re-birth of a woman who practices the recitation of Buddha Chenrezig mantra will be that of a man, it is one of the (side)effects of this most precious mantra.

My understanding is that our motivation should be Bodhicitta, loving-kindness, to start with, although we can't really progress on the Bodhisattva Path without first cultivating the ten virtuous actions and training in the Three Higher Trainings.

But still, reminding ourselves that each and every being has been our caring mother many times and therefore extremely precious (more precious than the wishfulfilling gem) should be a part of our daily contemplation and meditation - as the basis of our firm intention to help them the best we can. :)

With best wishes,

Khyenrab

Dear Khyenrab,