billytiss

Meditation

Hi,

I am very surprised with what I found as a definition of mediation:

meditation stands for habituating the mind to positive states

:bow:

Hmmmm...that's nice

Guest Petra S

What is meant by positive states? Can you see it from the context of your source? Does it mean pleasurable or oriented to benefiting others?

Maybe both. It reminds me of the topic of samsara and renunciation. It seems that a there are scientific proofs that meditation on "unrestricted readiness and availability to help living beings" brings happiness in samsaric life as well. As a side effect, not the goal, of course.

As a beginner, I also see the importance of rejoicing, inspiration and encouragement for meditation, so that it is not just a duty. The habit of connecting these joyous states with meditation helps me to create a stronger habit of meditation. I guess later the results of meditation encourage a meditator by themselves.

But I wonder what your source says. :bow:

Bye, Petra

Dear Petra,

What is meant by positive states? Can you see it from the context of your source? Does it mean pleasurable or oriented to benefiting others?